College of Liberal Arts Excellence Award

The C. Warren Hovland Service Award

The eponymous award honors C. Warren Hovland, College faculty member from 1949-1986, for his many contributions to the growth and vitality of the College of Liberal Arts. This year's recipient, Juan Antonio Trujillo, Assistant Professor of Spanish, is recognized for his commitment to language education at Oregon State.

Thomas R. Meehan Excellence in Teaching Award

This award recognizes outstanding contributions to undergraduate teaching in the College of Liberal Arts. 2012's award went to Mei-Ching Lien, Associate Professor of Psychology. Lien is known for her devotion to engaging undergraduate students in research.

Robert J. Frank Research, Scholarship and Creativity Award

This awardhelps raise the visibility of college scholars and creative artists, honors exceptionally productive individuals in these three areas, and challenges others to engage in research and creative endeavors. Lisa Ede, Professor of English, won the 2012 award. Throughout her 30-year career at Oregon State, Ede has been a pioneer in the field of writing pedagogy and composition.

College of Liberal Arts Bill Wilkins Faculty Development Award

This award is given to a deserving junior tenure-track faculty member. Bill Wilkins was Dean of CLA for 12 years and a member of the Department of Economics for 33 years. This year's recipient was Rebecca Olson, Assistant Professor of English. Olson teaches courses on early modern poetry and drama (c. 1400-1700). Her ongoing research interest is the relationship between literature and the visual: the ways writers encourage readers and playgoers to engage "the mind's eye." 

College of Liberal Arts ÉCLAT Faculty Development Award

Carolyn Maresh Professional Staff Award/College of Liberal Arts Outstanding Staff Award

This award recognizes outstanding job performance and dedication by a College staff person to the individual’s Department and to the College. Carolyn Maresh was a longtime Business Officer in CLA.