Monday, November 21, 2016

Forensics - Linfield

Oregon State University’s Forensics (speech and debate) Team attended the 86th Annual Mahaffey Memorial Forensics Tournament in McMinnville, Ore., on Nov. 18-20, 2016.

The tournament featured over thirty schools from across the region, including The College of Idaho, Nampa; Western Washington University, Bellingham; and Humboldt State University, Arcata, Calif. This the second designated tournament of the season for the Northwest Forensics Conference (NFC).

“The Mahaffey tournament is a regional tradition,” said Mark Porrovecchio, director of the team.  “You get some of the best competition of the season right in our backyard.”

Sophomore Kaden Meyers, a Physics major from Sandy, was a quarterfinalist in Open IPDA Debate. He also competed in Open Impromptu Speaking.

“Kaden’s debate success is worth highlighting,” said Mark Porrovecchio, director of the team.  “He competed against some of the top debaters in the region, no less the nation.”

Joining Meyers at the tournament were Sophomore Austin Carsh, a political science major from Tigard, who competed in Open IPDA debate and Open Impromptu Speaking; Junior Nicole Lemieux, a political science major from Hillsboro, who competed in Open Prose, Poetry, and Program Oral Interpretation; Junior Benjamin Richards, a computer science major from Eugene, who competed in Novice Impromptu Speaking and Novice IPDA debate. Also attending was Senior Evan Steele, a computer science major from Concord, Calif. The team was coached by graduate assistant Stephanie Saracco of Clackamas. Saracco is a MAIS student in speech communication.

Celebrating its 124th season, OSU Forensics is one of the oldest clubs on campus. The team is open to all students in good academic standing regardless of experience or academic background.  If you are a student interested in participating, or a member of the community who would like to support the team, please contact Porrovecchio at

Pictured (l-r): Stephanie Saracco, Benjamin Richards, Austin Carsh, Kaden Meyers, Evan Steele, and Nicole Lemieux.