Speech Communication offers scholarships to undergraduate students for excelling beyond the criteria below. Graduate students may choose to be considered for a Graduate Teaching Assistant (GTA) position to assist with the cost of their education.

Kristine Gazeley Memorial Scholarship

The Kristine Gazeley Memorial Scholarship (pdf) is open to students who are majoring in precommunication or communication, have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or above and have an expressed desire to work in the field of communication following graduation from the university. While not required, preference will be shown to applicants who have participated in 4-H programs, and/or have graduated from a high school in Union or Wallowa Counties in Oregon. The scholarship is in the amount of $1,000.

Alice L. Wallace Scholarship

The Alice L. Wallace Scholarship (pdf) is open to students majoring in Communication or Theatre Arts. During the scholarship year the student must be a junior or senior with a cumulative 3.25 GPA or above. In addition, the student must be involved in extracurricular speech and/or theatre activities. Financial need not considered. The scholarship is in the amount of $1,000.

Lloyd E. Crisp Scholarship

The Theater and Speech Communication areas in the College of Arts and Communication have a newly established scholarship: the Lloyd E. Crisp Theater and Speech Communication Scholarship. (pdf) Students must be majoring in Theater or Speech Communication, with the scholarship being awarded in alternating years to a student from one area (Speech Communication students will have the chance to earn this award every odd year, i.e. 2013, 2015). Preference will be given to diverse students (defined as: “first generation to attend college, having financial need, having a disability, having a primary life role prior to attending OSU that was other than being a student, being a member of a racial or ethnic minority in the community, or having a history of involvement in diverse communities”) who have achieved at least sophomore standing. The scholarship is in the amount of $1,000.