We offer a variety of scholarships to active undergraduate students throughout the year, including the Paula & Ken Krane Theatre Fund, D. Palmer Young Memorial Scholarship, the Alice & William R. Sibley Scholarship In Theater Arts, Peggy and Justin Hawkwood Scholarship in Dramatic Arts, and the Cortright Scholarship. The application process for scholarships will be available each Spring Term including criteria and deadlines.

The Paula & Ken Krane Theatre Fund

Scholarship and mini-grants established by Ken and Paula Krane, long-time University Theatre patrons.


Scholarship requirements include:

1)  Currently enrolled OSU student with a declared theatre arts option in the speech communication major or a declared minor in theatre arts;

2)  Involvement in production during the designated term of the scholarship;

3)  Production involvement is included but not limited to running crews, production staff positions (designers, assistants, stage mangers, etc.), front-of-house, and acting;

4)  All aspects of a student’s previous and current work with the UT (classroom and production) will be considered;

5)  Students whose involvement is limited paid work on production (work-study or student wage) are not eligible unless they occupy a non-paid production assignment;

6)  No student will be eligible to receive more than $1,000 in a single academic year and/or $2,000 over the course of their OSU undergraduate study in Krane scholarship funds (excluding mini-grants).

Theatre arts faculty will nominate and select recipients from currently enrolled OSU students.

 The awards shall consist of up to $1,500 in multiple scholarships (that is, $500 per term of the academic year) annually.  Scholarship funds must be applied to the student’s OSU account.


Approximately $500 in mini-grant money per academic year from the Krane Theatre Fund will be made available to OSU theatre students to help support their theatre endeavors and education.

Mini-grant requirements:

1)  OSU theatre major or minor;

2)  Any theatre activity associated with OSU classes, sponsored student productions, and/or sponsored student theatre activities/projects;

3)  Application outlining the details of the project and request;

Examples of possible projects/activities eligible for support include but are not limited to student Lab productions, portfolio development or improvement, conference attendance, bringing special guests/speakers to campus, and specialized course/training.

Funds will be disbursed on a first-come, first-served basis by the University Theatre faculty, taking into account the details of the project/application and the previous work of the student.

The award of the mini-grants will range from $25 - $75, depending on the details of the request and the funds available.  No single project will receive more than $100.  No student will receive more than a total of $150 in mini-grant funds per academic year

D. Palmer Young Memorial Scholarship

Partial in-state tuition for one term. Selection by the Theatre Arts faculty based on a student’s past involvement in and commitment to the theatre program, the apparent promise of continuing contribution, and financial need.

Letter of application detailing the above required. Awarded spring term for the following academic year as funding and quality of applicants allow. The scholarship honors D. Palmer Young, professor in the Department of Speech Communication and a University Theatre faculty member from the mid-1920s through the late 1960s.

The Alice & William R. Sibley Scholarship In Theatre Arts

A $500.00 tuition scholarship awarded to a full-time OSU undergraduate theatre student (i.e., a Speech Communication major with a Theatre Arts option) who plans to pursue a career in teaching following graduation from the University.
Letter of application detailing academic and artistic accomplishments, past/continuing involvement in OSU Theatre, and professional goals in relationship to theatre education required.

Applicants must have a cumulative GPA that qualifies them for admission to the OSU Master of Arts in Teaching. Awarded spring term for the following academic year as funding and quality of applicants allow. Made possible by a generous endowment from William R. and Alice Sibley, longtime theatre educators and supporters of Oregon State University Theatre.

Peggy and Justin Hawkwood Scholarship in Dramatic Arts

Scholarship established by Justin and Peggy Hawkwood, former OSU actors.

Requirements include:

1) Letter of intent with a description of work at the OSU University Theatre;

2) Fulltime undergraduate or graduate student;

3) Involvement with three OSU productions;

4) Grade point of 3.25

Typical award of $400.00

Applications solicited in late Spring Quarter.

“The Donors will be notified in writing of recipients, including, but not limited to, a list of their specific participation in the qualifying programmed plays.”

Cortright Scholarship

Scholarship established by Tim Steele in honor of the legacy of Professor Everett S. “Cort” Cortright, Oregon State University faculty member from 1944 to 1972.

Typical award of $1,000 to be applied toward the student’s account.