A total of 85 faculty members from the School of Public Policy (Economics, Political Science and Sociology) and affiliated disciplines comprise the MPP faculty, serving the program in various functions (see also: MPP Core Faculty).

 

Faculty Listing by Policy Concentrations:

 

Faculty Listing by Program:

 

Economics Program

Professor Patrick Emerson Patrick Emerson
Associate Professor

patrick.emerson@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-1479

Policy Areas: International development; industrial, labor, urban and environmental economics; policy analysis.

PhD: Cornell University

Rolf Färe
Professor

rolf.fare@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-8184

Policy Areas: Production theory and performance measurement.

PhD: University of Lund

Qinglai Meng
Associate Professor

Qinglai.Meng@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-8744

Policy Areas: Macroeconomics.

PhD: New York University

Todd Pugatch
Assistant Professor

todd.pugatch@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-6628

Policy Areas: Labor economics, development economics and education economics.

PhD: University of Michigan

Elizabeth Schroeder
Elizabeth Schroeder
Associate Professor

liz.schroeder@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-1476 

Policy Areas: Applied microeconomics and development.

PhD: Georgetown University

Assistant Professor Paul Thompson Paul Thompson
Assistant Professor

paul.thompson@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-8185

Policy Areas: Social Policy

PhD: Michigan State University

Carol Horton Tremblay
Professor

ctremblay@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-1468

Policy Areas: Public policy analysis, econometrics, economics of U.S. brewing industry.

PhD: Washington State University

Victor J. Tremblay
Professor

v.tremblay@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-1471

Policy Areas: Industrial organization, microeconomics, the economics of advertising, and the economics of the U.S. brewing and cigarette industries.

PhD: Washington State University

Political Science Program

Keith Baker Keith Baker
Assistant Professor

keith.baker@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-3648

Policy Areas: Governance, energy policy, nuclear power, public administration

PhD: University of Birmingham, UK

Amy Below Amy Below
Associate Professor

Amy.Below@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-6280

Policy Areas: International relations, foreign policy, foreign policy analysis, international environmental politics.

PhD: University of Southern California

bernell David Bernell
Associate Professor

david.bernell@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-2811

Policy Areas: International policy, foreign relations, energy, environment, Latin America

PhD: Johns Hopkins University

henderson Sarah Henderson
Associate Professor

sarah.henderson@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-6236

Policy Areas: Russia/Central and Eastern Europe, Democratization, Civil Society, Gender and Postcommunism

PhD: University of Colorado

Alison Johnston Alison Johnston
Assistant Professor

alison.johnston@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-6243 

Policy Areas: Comparative politics and economics, European politics and European Union politics

PhD: London School of Economics

Michael Jones

Michael Jones
Assistant Professor

michael.jones@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-2811 

Policy Areas: Narrative Policy Framework, policy process, environmental policy, social policy, science and technology 

PhD: University of Oklahoma

Philipp Kneis Philipp Kneis
Instructor

philipp.kneis@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-1325

Policy Areas: International, Social and Cultural politics

PhD: University of Potsdam, Germany

li Hua-Yu Li
Associate Professor

hua-yu.li@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-6235

Policy Areas: China's political economy in the early 1950s, Sino-Soviet relations, the CCP and its evolution and change.

PhD: Columbia University

solberg Rorie Solberg
Associate Professor

rorie.spillsolberg@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-2811

Policy Areas: Judicial Politics.

PhD: Ohio State University

steel Brent S. Steel
Professor & Graduate Program Director

bsteel@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-6133

Policy Areas: International and comparative environmental policy, comparative rural policy, science and scientists in the policy process, state and local governance.

PhD: Washington State
University

Christopher Stout
Assistant Professor

Christopher.Stout@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-4729

Policy Areas: Public opinion, polling accuracy, race and politics, minority voting behavior 

PhD: University of California, Irvine

valls Andrew Valls
Associate Professor

andrew.valls@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-9577

Policy Areas: Political theory, especially theories of justice and democracy, domestic and global inequality, race and ethnicity, environmental political theory.

PhD: University of Pittsburgh

weber Edward Weber
Ulysses Dubach Professor of Environmental Policy

Edward.Weber@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-2811

Policy Areas: Environmental politics and policy, public administration, science and politics.

PhD: University of Wisconsin, Madison

Erika Wolters Erika Allen Wolters
Director, Oregon State University Policy Analysis Laboratory (OPAL)
and Ecampus Coordinator

Erika.Wolters@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-6243

Policy Areas: Environmental politics and policy, science and politics.

PhD: Oregon State University

Sociology Program

Scott Akins Scott Akins
Associate Professor

sakins@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-5370

Policy Areas: Criminology and deviance, drug use and policy, research methods.

PhD: Washington State
University

Hilary Boudet Hilary Boudet
Assistant Professor

Hilary.Boudet@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-5375

Policy Areas: Social movements, environmental policy, energy policy.

PhD: Stanford University

Burkhardt Brett Burkhardt
Assistant Professor

brett.burkhardt@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-2310

Policy Areas: Sociology of law, law and society, political sociology, criminal justice and criminology. 

PhD: University of Wisconsin, Madison

flaxen-conway Flaxen Conway
Professor, Director, Marine Resource Management Program

flaxen.conway@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-1339

Policy Areas: Communities coping with change and transition; personal and group leadership education; cooperative learning and research; renewable energy policy.

Lori A. Cramer Lori Cramer
Associate Professor

lcramer@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-5382

Policy Areas: Natural resource sociology, environmental sociology, social impact assessment, rural sociology.

PhD: Utah State University

Mark Edwards Mark Edwards
Professor

medwards@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-5379

Policy Areas: Poverty and inequality, food security, sociology of housing, research methods.

PhD: University of Washington

Sally Gallagher Sally Gallagher
Professor

sgallagher@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-5367

Policy Areas: Work and family, gender, sociology of religion, international development.

PhD: University of Massachusetts,
Amherst

roger hammer Roger Hammer
Associate Professor

rhammer@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-5406

Policy Areas: Ecological demography, rural sociology, migration, housing.

PhD: University of Wisconsin,
Madison

Allison Hurst Allison Hurst
Associate Professor

allison.hurst@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-3391

Policy Areas: Social Policy

PhD: University of Oregon

Michelle Inderbitzin Michelle Inderbitzin
Associate Professor

mli@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-8921

Policy Areas: Juvenile delinquency, criminology, deviant behavior and social control, sociology of education.

PhD: University of Washington

Kelsy Kretschmer
Assistant Professor

Kelsy.Kretschmer@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-3077 

Policy Areas: Social movements, gender inequality, organizations, political sociology 

PhD: University of California, Irvine

denise lach Denise Lach
Professor and Director of School of Public Policy

denise.lach@oregonstate.edu

Policy Areas: Environmental natural resource sociology, applied sociology including social impact assessment, program evaluation, and organizational development, organizational sociology, water conflict and dispute resolution.

PhD: University of Oregon

Dwaine Plaza Dwaine Plaza
Professor

dplaza@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-5369

Policy Areas: Caribbean studies, migration and settlement, race and ethnic relations.

PhD: York University (Canada)

Ana Spalding
Assistant Professor

Ana.Spalding@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-2073

Policy Areas: Marine and coastal policy, migration and development 

PhD: University of California, Santa Cruz

Rican Vue
Assistant Professor

Rican.Vue@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-2078

Policy Areas: Education policy 

PhD: University of California, Los Angeles

rebecca-warner Rebecca Warner
Professor

rwarner@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-0732 

Policy Areas: Gender and family policy; science policy; comparative and international gender policy. 

PhD: Washington State University

Affiliated Faculty

  Brenda O. Bateman
Instructor, Institute for Water and Watersheds

brenda.o.bateman@state.or

Policy Areas: Environmental Policy

PhD: University of Maryland,
Baltimore

 

Stephanie Bernell
Associate Professor, Health Management and Policy

stephanie.bernell@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-9162

Policy Areas: Labor market effects of physical and mental health status, the relationship between place and obesity, and the causes of hunger and food insecurity.

PhD: Johns Hopkins University

  Holly V. Campbell
Instructor, Fisheries and Wildlife

holly.campbell@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 740-9716

Policy Areas: marine policy; domestic and international use of science in regulatory systems and governance; ecosystem-based management; systems analysis of the coastal zone including human uses, integrated policy approaches to food, energy, water, and climate; offshore alternative energy (including wind and wave energy)

PhD: Oregon State University

  Samuel Chan
Oregon Sea Grant

samuel.chan@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-8692

Policy Areas: Aquatic ecosystems health, marine and coastal policy and outreach, invasive species.

PhD: Oregon State University

  Yong Chen
Assistant Professor, Agricultural and Resource Economics

yong.chen@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-3176

Policy Areas: Regional development and land use policy.

PhD: Ohio State University

  Chunhuei Chi
Associate Professor and Coordinator, International Health Program

chunhuei.chi@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-3836

Policy Areas: Equitable and sustainable health development for low-income nations; health systems finance; national health care systems and universal health care; evaluating equity and efficiency(extra-welfarism) in health care services.

PhD: Harvard University

  Allison Davis-White Eyes
Director, Diversity & Cultural Engagement

Allison.Davis-WhiteEyes@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-4383

Policy Areas: American Indian policy, culture and society; international education policy; rural policy; diversity; gender policy

PhD: Oregon State University

  Qwo-Li Driskill
Assistant Professor
Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

qwo-li.driskill@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-1114  

Policy Areas: American Indian culture and literature; gender and sexuality studies; performing arts

PhD: Michigan State University

  Patti Duncan
Associate Professor, Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

patti.duncan@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-9274

Policy Areas: Transnational feminist theories; gender and the global economy; gender issues in Asia.

PhD: Emory University

  Molly Engle
Associate Professor, College of Education

molly.engle@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-4126

Policy Areas: Seamless evaluation, application of systems thinking and learning to evaluation, and evaluation of community-based programs.

PhD: University of Arizona

  Chinweike Eseonu
College of Engineering

chinweike.eseonu@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-0024

Policy Areas: Human Systems Engineering

PhD: Texas Tech University

  Lisa Gaines
Director,
Institute for Natural Resources

lisa.gaines@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-1976

Policy Areas: Environmental policy and decision-making, citizen participation, evaluation, and human dimensions of environmental risk.

PhD: Oregon State University

  Joan Gross
Professor, Anthropology

jgross@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-3852

Policy Areas: Agrifood movements, rural anthropology, Europe, Latin America, food and discourse.

PhD: University of Texas-Austin

  Jacob Darwin Hamblin
Associate Professor, History of Science

jacob.hamblin@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-3503 

Policy Areas: History of Science, History of Technology, Environmental History. 

PhD: University of California, Santa Barbara

  Jack Higginbotham
Professor and Director, Oregon NASA Space Grant Consortium

jack.higginbotham@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-9949

Policy Areas: Space Policy

PhD: University of California, Los Angeles

  Sunil Khanna
Professor, Public Health and Human Sciences

skhanna@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-3859

Policy Areas: International health, genetic privacy policy, HIPPA, rural-urban migration, gender and development, reproductive health, policy formulation, implementation, and evaluation.

PhD: Syracuse University

  Andrew C. Klein
Professor, College of Engineering

Andrew.Klein@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-7061

Policy Areas: Nuclear Engineering & Radiation Health Physics

PhD: University of Wisconsin, Madison

  Jeffrey Kline
Research Forester, Pacific Northwest Research Station

JKline@fs.fed.us
Phone: (541) 758-7776

Policy Areas: Land use, development effects on forestry, public forest values, open space.

PhD: University of Rhode Island

  Janet Lee
Professor, Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

jlee@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-6132

Policy Areas: Gender and science, global women's issues, theories of feminisms, and feminist research.

PhD: Washington State University

  Larry Lev
Professor and Extension Economist, Agricultural & Resource Econ

larry.lev@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-1417 

Policy Areas: Agricultural & Resource Economics, local food systems and values-based agricultural supply chains. 

PhD: Michigan State University

 denise lach Bill Loges
Associate Professor
New Media Communications

Bill.Loges@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-9855  

Policy Areas: New Media Communications; New Media and Society; Media Theory; Diffusion of Innovations; Media Ethics; Media Effects; History of Telecommunication 

PhD: University of Southern California

  Kate MacTavish
Associate Professor, Human Development and Family Sciences

kate.mactavish@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-9130

Policy Areas: Human Development and family in small towns and rural areas

PhD: University of Illinois, Urbana

  Mark Needham 
Associate Professor, Forest Ecosystems and Society

mark.needham@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-1498

Policy Areas: Human dimensions of natural resources, recreation, tourism and wildlife.

PhD: Colorado State University

  Larry Roper
Professor, Ethnic Studies

larry.roper@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-3626

Policy Areas: Racism and interracial dynamics, social distance.

PhD: University of Maryland,
College Park

  Nancy Rosenberger
Professor, Anthropology

nrosenberger@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-3857

Policy Areas: Gender, food systems, organic agriculture, rural anthropology, hegemony and resistance in market and nation, globalization/localization, ethnographic methods, Japan, Korea, Central Asia, Oregon.

PhD: University of Michigan

  Randall Rosenberger
Associate Professor, Forest Ecosystems and Society

r.rosenberger@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-4425

Policy Areas: Economics of Recreation Resources, valuation of non-market resources and economics of sustainable natural resources.

PhD: Colorado State University

David Rothwell
Assistant Professor
Human Development and Family Sciences

david.rothwell@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-1081

Policy Areas: Health Policy, Poverty, Families, and Social Policy

PhD: University of Hawai’i at Manoa

 

  Darlene Russ-Eft
Professor & Chair, Adult Education

darlene.russeft@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-9373

Policy Areas: Program evaluation, research design, work place learning, training and development, human resource development.

PhD: University of Michigan

  Vijay A. Satyal
Senior Policy Analyst, WECC

Vijay.A.Satyal@state.or.us
Phone: (503) 373-7806

Policy Areas: Renewable energy policy.

PhD: Oregon State University

  Susan Shaw
Professor & Chair, Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

sshaw@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-3082

Policy Areas: Systems of oppression in women's lives.

PhD: Southern Baptist Seminary

  Garry Stephenson
Coordinator, Small Farms Program

garry.stephenson@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-5833

Policy Areas: Local and Regional Food systems, Alternative marketing systems, Farmers’ markets, Beginning farmer and rancher education

PhD: University of Oregon

Karen Thompson
Assistant Professor, Education

Karen.Thompson@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-2988

Policy Areas: Education Policy

PhD: Stanford University

Robert Thompson
Assistant Professor, Ethnic Studies

rthompson@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-5367

Policy Areas: Contemporary African American social and political discourse; racial patterns of urbanization.

PhD: University of California, Sant Cruz

  Bryan Tilt
Professor, Anthropology

bryan.tilt@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-3896

Policy Areas: Sustainable development, environmental risk assessment, pollution, community participation, natural resources, fisheries management

PhD: University of Washington

  Gregg Walker
Professor, Communications

gwalker@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-2461

Policy Areas: Environmental (conflict)

PhD: University of Kansas

  Haizhong Wang
Assistant Professor, College of Engineering

Haizhong.Wang@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-8538

Policy Areas: Civil Engineering

PhD: University of Massachusetts, Amherst

  Bruce Weber
Professor and Director, Agriculture and Resource Economics, Rural Studies Program

Bruce.Weber@oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-1432

Policy Areas: Causes of poverty and hunger in rural areas, particularly on the interaction of community characteristics, public policy and household economic outcomes for low-income people.

PhD: University of Wisconsin, Madison

  Justin Wettstein
Assistant Professor, College of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences

jwettstein@coas.oregonstate.edu

Policy Areas: Environmental Policy

PhD: University of Washington, Seattle

  Aaron Wolf
Professor, College of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences

wolfa@geo.oregonstate.edu
Phone: (541) 737-5369

Policy Areas: Transboundary water conflicts and conflict resolution, water basin technical and policy analysis, environmental policy analysis.

PhD: University of Wisconsin, Madison