Kayla Garcia
, Professor of Spanish, was presented the Thomas R. Meehan Excellence in Teaching Award, which recognizes outstanding contributions to undergraduate teaching in the College of Liberal Arts.

The Award honors Thomas R. Meehan, College faculty member from 1962 to 1984, who won more campus-wide teaching awards during his years with the College of Liberal Arts than any other faculty member.  It carries a $1,000.00 award.





Anita Helle, Associate Professor of English and Denise Lach, Associate Professor of Sociology, were presented the Robert J. Frank Research, Scholarship and Creativity Award. This award helps raise the visibility of College scholars and creative artists, honors exceptionally productive individual researchers, and challenges others to engage in research and creative endeavors.

This award is made possible through the generosity of Robert Frank and carries a $500.00 award.  In 2008, Anita Helle and Denise Lach shared the award.


Mina Carson, Associate Professor of History, was presented the C. Warren Hovland Service Award, which recognizes outstanding recent and accumulated service to the College, University, and community.

The C. Warren Hovland Service Award honors C. Warren Hovland, College faculty member from 1949 to 1986, for his many contributions to the growth and vitality of the College of Liberal Arts and carries an award of $500.00.



Mei-Ching Lien, Assistant Professor of Psychology, was presented with the Bill Wilkins Faculty Development Award. This award is granted to a College faculty member to enhance teaching skills, improve curriculum, advance research opportunities, or take advantage of career development opportunities.

This award is made possible by the Dean Emeritus of the College of Liberal Arts, Bill Wilkins, and carries a $1,250.00 stipend.





Ann Leen, Officer Manager in the Department of English, received the Carolyn Maresh Professional Staff Award, which recognizes outstanding job performance and dedication to the College.

The award honors Carolyn Maresh, longtime Assistant to the Dean of CLA for Business Affairs and carries an award of $500.00