On Wednesday, Sept. 23, Oregon State University’s College of Liberal Arts honored top faculty and staff during its annual CLA Day. Award recipients were nominated by their supervisors, colleagues, and students. Dean Larry Rodgers presented certificates to the honorees for their achievements at the event, which was held at Withycombe Hall Theatre.
The winners were:

  • Melissa Cheyney, assistant professor of anthropology, was presented the Thomas R. Meehan Excellence in Teaching Award, which recognizes outstanding contributions to undergraduate teaching in the College of Liberal Arts. Cheyney was recognized for her role in opening OSU’s Reproductive Health Lab, her popularity with students, and her work at developing new innovative classes. The Award honors Thomas R. Meehan, College faculty member from 1962 to 1984, who won more campus-wide teaching awards during his years with the College of Liberal Arts than any other faculty member.  It carries a $1,000.00 award.
  • Tracy Daugherty, professor of English, was presented the Robert J. Frank Research, Scholarship and Creativity Award. This Award helps raise the visibility of College scholars and creative artists, honors exceptionally productive individual researchers, and challenges others to engage in research and creative endeavors. Daugherty’s accomplishments include fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Guggenheim Foundation. He has received national acclaim for his recent biography of writer Donald Barthelme, titled “Hiding Man.” The Robert J. Frank Research, Scholarship and Creativity Award includes a $500 award. 
  • Joan Gross, professor of Anthropology, was presented the C. Warren Hovland Service Award, which recognizes outstanding recent and accumulated service to the College, University, and community. Gross was recognized for her promotion of international education, her community service and her dedication to serving as a language volunteer. The C. Warren Hovland Service Award honors C. Warren Hovland, College faculty member from 1949 to 1986, for his many contributions to the growth and vitality of the College of Liberal Arts and carries an award of $500. 
  • Tara Williams, assistant professor of English, was presented with the Bill Wilkins Faculty Development Award. This award is granted to a College faculty member to enhance teaching skills, improve curriculum, advance research opportunities, or take advantage of career development opportunities. Williams was honored for her work in revitalizing the medieval studies courses, her extensive research publications and her success at writing grants to further her research. The Bill Wilkins Faculty Development Award is made possible by the Dean Emeritus of the College of Liberal Arts, Bill Wilkins, and carries a $1,250 stipend. 
  • Shirley Dodsworth, assistant to the chair of Psychology, received the Carolyn Maresh Professional Staff Award, which recognizes outstanding job performance and dedication to the College. Dodsworth was recognized for her work in reorganizing and restructuring her office to make it more efficient and to better serve students and faculty. The award honors Carolyn Maresh, longtime assistant to the Dean of CLA for Business Affairs and carries an award of $500.

About the OSU College of Liberal Arts: The College of Liberal Arts includes the fine and performing arts, humanities and social sciences, making it one of the largest and most diverse colleges at OSU. The college's research and instructional faculty members contribute to the education of all university students and provide national and international leadership, creativity and scholarship in their academic disciplines.