Oregon State University’s College of Liberal Arts honored top faculty and staff this week during its annual CLA Day.

Award recipients were nominated by their supervisors, colleagues, and students. Dean Larry Rodgers presented certificates to the honorees for their achievements at the event, which was held at Withycombe Hall Theatre. The winners were:

Larry Rodgers and Michelle Inderbitzin

• Michelle Inderbitzin, associate professor of sociology, was presented the Thomas R. Meehan Excellence in Teaching Award, which recognizes outstanding contributions to undergraduate teaching in the College of Liberal Arts. Inderbitzin was nominated by students and faculty alike for her innovative teaching methods, including her “Inside/Out” class where OSU students learn alongside inmates at the state penitentiary.
• Mei-Ching Lien, associate professor of psychology, was presented the Robert J. Frank Research, Scholarship and Creativity Award. This award helps raise the visibility of College scholars and creative artists, honors exceptionally productive individual researchers, and challenges others to engage in research and creative endeavors. Lien was awarded for her tremendous research, which includes 13 peer-reviewed journal articles since 2008 and more than 350 scholarly citations.


Robert Frank and Mei-Ching Lien

• Trischa Goodnow (not pictured), associate professor of speech communications, was presented the C. Warren Hovland Service Award, which recognizes outstanding recent and accumulated service to the College, University, and community. Goodnow was recognized for bringing notable conferences and events to OSU, and for her contributions to forensics education. The C. Warren Hovland Service Award honors C. Warren Hovland, College faculty member from 1949 to 1986, for his many contributions to the growth and vitality of the College of Liberal Arts.

Jake Hamblin and Larry Rodgers

• Jake Hamblin, assistant professor of history, was presented with the Bill and Caroline Wilkins Faculty Development Award. This award is granted to a College faculty member to enhance teaching skills, improve curriculum, advance research opportunities, or take advantage of career development opportunities. Hamblin was honored for extensive scholarly output including publication in top journals in his field and a contract to publish his fourth book from Oxford University Press. The Bill and Caroline Wilkins Faculty Development Award is made possible by the Dean Emeritus of the College of Liberal Arts, Bill Wilkins.
• Dwanee Howard, assistant to the chair in the Department of Art, received the Carolyn Maresh Professional Staff Award, which recognizes outstanding job performance and dedication to the College. Howard was recognized for her work in developing a strong relationship with the university’s business centers, as well as streamlining and improving the department’s budget. The award honors Carolyn Maresh, longtime assistant to the Dean of CLA for Business Affairs.

Larry Rodgers and Dwanee Howard

About the OSU College of Liberal Arts: The College of Liberal Arts includes the fine and performing arts, humanities and social sciences, making it one of the largest and most diverse colleges at OSU.  The college's research and instructional faculty members contribute to the education of all university students and provide national and international leadership, creativity and scholarship in their academic disciplines.