student receives scholarship in virtual awards ceremony

As another year comes to a close, we wanted to acknowledge the incredible work going on in Moreland Hall. We recently celebrated our student award winners, whose writing across our literature, film, writing, and applied journalism classes stood out to our panel of judges. Congratulations are in order, too, to three of our colleagues who were promoted. These well deserved accomplishments capped off an exciting 2019-2020 academic year for SWLF.



External Sigurd H. Peterson Scholarship: Hayley Braack

Internal Sigurd H. Peterson Scholarship: Kara Traffas & Joseph Cavanagh

Bernard Malamud Scholarship: Brandt Bridges, Adriana Gutierrez, & Bryn Landrus

Mary Holaday Murray Scholarship: Kali Brickley & Joshua Stickrod

Raleigh Clare Dickinson Scholarship: Brogan Ayers

Irwin C. Harris Legacy Scholarship: Adriana Gutierrez


Essay Awards

Graduate Essay Award: Tallon Kennedy

For “Queer Orientations: Lucy Snowe’s Mad Perceptions and Haunted World”

Nominated by Lily Sheehan


Schwartz Essay Award: Rebecca Cyr

For “Identifying the Non-Realist Novel: Toward a New Understanding of Generic Fiction”

Nominated by Megan Ward


Schwartz Essay Award: Kara Traffas

For “Exploring an Ambiguous Relationship: Competition and Cooperation Between Word and Image in Virgil’s Aeneid”

Nominated by Rebecca Olson


Smith-Norris Essay Award: Leila Kenner

For “The Beauty Industry and Female Identity”

Nominated by Clare Braun


Elroy Bode Essay Award: Laura Chapin

For “Coriander”

Nominated by Jeff Fearnside


Elroy Bode Essay Award: Michael Park

For “An Angeleno’s Guide to Spring Equinox”

Nominated by Jeff Fearnside


WIC Culture of Writing Award

Rebekah Villanti For “Defining the Novel by Conventions of Realism and Fictionality”

Nominated by Megan Ward


The Lisa Ede Award

Benjamin Platt


Graduate Creative Writing Awards

Fiction: Catherine Malcynsky

Nonfiction: Nicholas Snider

Poetry: Carolyn Vaughn


Weaver Poetry Award

Gabe Reitzes

Honorable mention: Megan Lynn Tucker


We also want to recognize our accomplished faculty who earned promotions this year:

Nick Dybek, to Associate Professor with Tenure

Megan Ward, to Associate Professor with Tenure

Clare Braun, to Senior Instructor I


Support SWLF:
You can make a donation to a specific award or scholarship, or create a new award. Donations from alumni and friends are crucial in supporting our students. To learn more contact:

Grady Goodall