Linus Pauling

Oregon State University
College of Liberal Arts

The Ava Helen and Linus Pauling
Memorial Lecture

World Peace

Ava Helen Pauling


Distinguished Lecturers

Lecture Title                                         

1982  *Linus Pauling  
1983  Paul Warnke  
1984  Helen Caldicott  We the People: A Prescription for Ending the Arms Race
1985  George Ball  United States Foreign Policy
1986  John Kenneth Galbraith  The Military Power and the Larger Complex
1987 *Adolfo Perez Esquivel  Peace and Justice in Central and Latin America
1988  Johan Galtung  Is the U.S. Political Discourse Adequate to the Task of Peace?
1989  Mark Hatfield  
1990 *Mairead Corrigan Maguire  
1991  Petra Kelly  Green Politics in New Europe: Hope for Change?
1992 *Oscar Arias Sanchez  The Craftsmanship of Peace: Moving to Global Demilitarization
1993  William Sloane Coffin  
1994  Arun Gandhi  Fulfilling Gandhi's Dream at the End of the 20th Century
1995  Noam Chomsky  
1996  Charles Upchurch  
1998  James Fallows  
1998 *Jose Ramos-Horta  
2000  Gwyne Dyer  
2001 *Betty Williams  
2002  Robert Kennedy, Jr  
2003  Sulak Sivaraksa  
2004  Matthew Messelson  
2006 *Rigoberta Menchu  
2007  Grace Lee Boggs  
2008  Rami Khouri  
2009  Steven Way  
2010  Jody Williams  
2011  Frances Moore Lappe  
2012  David Cobb  

*Nobel Laureate