Monday, November 27, 2017

CORVALLIS, Ore. – Oregon State University’s Forensics (speech and debate) Team has announced the recipients of its 2017-2018 scholarships.

The Minette Phillips Espy Forensics Scholarship is named after a much loved alumni of the Oregon Agricultural College (1906). It is offered to new and returning members of the team as a way to defray academic costs. The Popovich Forensics Scholarship was created by Milosh Popovich (’39; ’41) in honor of his wife and stand-out member of the forensics team, Jeanne (’41), both long-standing and generous members of the OSU community. The scholarship is designed to help students attend national and international tournaments.

“These awards attest to the historical significance, and continued vitality, of forensics team has at OSU,” said Mark Porrovecchio, director of the team.  “It is humbling to lead a team that has played such an important role at this university.”

Recipients of the Espy award are Junior Kaden Meyers, a Political Science major from Sandy; and Sophomore Uwe Keist, a Political Science major from Corvallis. Meyer and Keist both compete in individual events and debate. Both students will attend and compete in the International Public Debate Association (IPDA) annual national tournament held in Spokane, Wash., in March 2018.

Those students earning the Popovich award are MAIS graduate student and assistant coach Evan Steele of Concord, Calif.; and Espy Scholarship recipient Meyers. Both students will attend and compete at the International Forensics Association (IFA) annual tournament held in Montreal, Canada, in March 2018.

“These three students are wonderful representatives of the team and the school,” added Porrovecchio. “They are a testament to the role that forensics can play in a student’s—whether graduate or undergraduate—overall development.”

Celebrating its 125th season, OSU Forensics is one of the oldest clubs on campus and a member of the Performing Arts Board in the School of Arts and Communication.  The team is open to all students in good academic standing regardless of experience or academic background.  If you are a student interested in participating, or a member of the community who would like to support the team, please contact Porrovecchio at


Mark Porrovecchio

205 Shepard Hall`


Pictured from L-R: Uwe Keist, Kaden Meyers, and Evan Steele.