Monday, November 13, 2017

13 November 2017

CORVALLIS, Ore. – Oregon State University’s Forensics (speech and debate) Team attended the 87th Annual Mahaffey Memorial Forensics Tournament at Linfield College, in McMinnville, Ore., on Nov. 10-12, 2017.

The tournament, which draws national-level competition to the Northwest, featured dozens of schools, including: Boise State University; University of California, Berkeley; and the University of North Georgia, Dahlonega. The Mahaffey, the second official tournament of the season for the Northwest Forensics Conference (NFC), featured hundreds of individual event and debate entries. 

Junior Kaden Meyers, a Political Science major from Sandy, was fourth best speaker and a quarterfinalist in Open IPDA Debate. He also competed in Open Impromptu Speaking and Open Extemporaneous Speaking. Sophmore Uwe Keist, a Political Science major from Corvallis, was eighth best speaker in Novice IPDA Debate. He also competed in Novice Impromptu Speaking. 

“It is wonderful to see a seasoned member of the team consistently doing well against high caliber competition,” said Mark Porrovecchio, director of the team. “It was equally gratifying to see a newcomer recognized for his emerging talent.”

Meyers and Keist were joined by Freshman Mikayla Heston, a Pre-Bioengineering major from Boring. She competed in Junior Impromptu speaking and Junior Persuasive Speaking.

The team was coached by graduate assistant Evan Steele of Concord, Calif. Steele is a MAIS student in the Speech Communication area of the School of Arts and Communication. 

Celebrating its 125th season, OSU Forensics is one of the oldest clubs on campus and a member of the Performing Arts Board in the School of Arts and Communication. The team is open to all students in good academic standing regardless of experience or academic background. If you are a student interested in participating, or a member of the community who would like to support the team, please contact Porrovecchio at


Mark Porrovecchio

205 Shepard Hall`


Pictured (l-r): Uwe Keist, Mikayla Heston, Kaden Meyers, and Evan Steele.