The Program in History annually recognizes outstanding scholarly writing and achievements by students as well as honoring devoted service to the department by students, staff, and faculty through the following annual awards.  The SHPR awards ceremony is held annually in June.  

Arthur E. Gravatt Scholarship
Thomas and Margaret Meehan History Scholarship
Barbara Bennett Peterson History Award
Robert Wayne Smith Book Award
Graduate Student Essay Award

Awards are presented at the SHPR Awards ceremony held annually at the end of Spring Term.

Student inductions into Phi Alpha Theta (the National History Honor Society) are also held during the ceremony.