Ecampus Instructor, Spanish

Kidder Hall

Kidder Hall M105

2000 SW Campus Way

2000 SW Campus Way
Corvallis, OR 97331

M.A. in Spanish Language and Literature, Portland State University, 2010

B.S. in Nursing, Virginia Commonwealth University, 1988

TESOL Certificate, 2011

Profile Field Tabs

Affiliated with: 
Sch Lang, Culture & Soc
Courses Taught: 
  • SPAN 111, 112 and 113 (First Year Spanish)
  • SPAN 211, 212, 213 (Second Year Spanish)
  • SPAN 311,312, 313 (Third Year Spanish)
  • SPAN 318 (Introduction to Spanish Literature)
  • SPAN 331, 332, 333 (Cultures of Spain and Portugal)
  • SPAN 411(Specialized Grammar)
  • SPAN 412 (Advanced Composition)
  • SPAN 221 (Spanish for Medical Professions I) 
  • Fall 2020: SPAN 222 (Spanish for Medical Professions II)
Research/Career Interests: 

I began teaching at Oregon State University in 2014 for e-campus. Prior to OSU I taught at Lewis & Clark College from 2010-2016 and began my teaching career at Portland State University in 2008.  Prior to this I was an emergency room nurse and flight nurse for 20+ years. My father is from Spain and my mother grew up in France and Spain.  We only spoke Spanish at home so it was my first language. I later learned English in school.  In 2006 I decided that I wanted to change careers and began to study Spanish formally and entered graduate school. I graduated from Portland State University in 2010 with a Masters in Spanish Language and Literature and have been teaching since then. I love teaching students Spanish, I am quite passionate about culture, social systems, diversity and social justice. I try to incorporate those themes in my courses. I have taught 1st-4th year Spanish, Peninsular Culture & History and Castilian Music & Folklore. For the past 6 summers I led study abroad courses in Zamora, Spain that I created back in 2013. Here is more information about the study abroad program in Zamora, Spain: Castilla y León: Language and Culture.  I speak Spanish, English.

In my spare time I have traveled throughout Spain extensively and lived off/on in my father's home town of Zamora,Spain.  I enjoy hiking, running, walking and riding my bike all through the countryside.