The Stone Award

The Stone Award for Literary Achievement honors a major American author who has created a body of critically acclaimed literary work and has been—in the tradition of creative writing at OSU—a dedicated mentor to succeeding generations of young writers.

OSU alum Patrick F. Stone ('74) and his wife, Vicki, established the prize to spotlight what they see as one of OSU’s best kept secrets: the MFA Program in Creative Writing, which has a growing reputation for its emphasis on mentoring students, building community and reaching out to underserved populations—including at-risk youth and military veterans. The Stones’ $600,000 commitment has allowed OSU to award prizes in 2012, 2014, 2016 and 2019, and will continue to provide award funding through an endowment. The honorarium for the award is $20,000, making the Stone Prize one of the most substantial awards for literary achievement offered by any university in the country.

2019 Stone Award Winner Colson Whitehead

Monday, April 1, 2019
7:30 p.m., The LaSells Stewart Center
To register visit:

Colson Whitehead has received a MacArthur Fellowship, a Guggenheim Fellowship, a Whiting Award, the Dos Passos Prize and a fellowship at the Cullman Center for Scholars and Writers. He is the author of two books of nonfiction and six novels, including “The Underground Railroad,” which won the Pulitzer Prize, the National Book Award and the Carnegie Medal for Fiction. He has taught and worked as a writer-in-residence at several universities and colleges around the country. His latest novel, “The Nickel Boys,” will be published in July, 2019.

All events are free and open to the public

For accommodations relating to a disability or to request this information in a different format, please contact 541-737-2623.