The School of Psychological Science Psychology Engagement Scholarship provides $1000 for an undergraduate's educational expenses and is awarded based on academic performance, engagement in psychological activities, such as participating in research or completing an internship, and promise for the future. The award is given based on financial need.

Psychology Engagement Scholarship Awardees


2023 Claudia Garcia
2022 Ashlynn Barwig
2021 Benjamin Wenndorf 
2020 Karli Readr
2019 Saki Nakai
2018 Morgan Stosic







  • CLA Outstanding Seniors, SPS:
  • Emile De Pooter, nominated by Mei-Ching Lien
  • Britnie Gwynn, nominated by Kathleen Bogart and Shirley Mann
  • Jannah Moussaoui, nominated by Jason McCarley and Hannah Lawrence
  • Saki Nakai, nominated by Regan Gurung and Kathryn Becker-Blease
  • Culture of Writing Award: Renee Waldren, Jordan Denbo, Joshua Spencer for their shared paper "The Effects of Laptop's Distraction on Learning"
  • Best Honor’s Thesis Award: Rebecca Killion for her paper “Associations Between State Alcohol Tax Policies and College Sexual Assault Offenses”
  • Thurgood Marshall Award: John Richmond Sy
Previous SPS Student Awards

Prior to 2018, the Psychology Scholar Award honored three Psychology majors each academic year who had shown strong academic performance, maintaining a 3.5 GPA or above, and had been nominated by a professor for outstanding involvement in Psychology, either in research labs, internships, or student organizations. Each awardee received an award certificate, $200, and their names engraved on the award plaque in Reed Lodge.